Geology is the science and study of the solid and liquid matter that constitutes the Earth. The field of geology encompasses the study of the composition, structure, physical properties, dynamics, and history of Earth materials, and the processes by which they are formed, moved, and changed. The field is a major academic discipline, and is also important for mineral and hydrocarbon extraction, knowledge about and mitigation of natural hazards, some engineering fields, and understanding past climates and environments with reference to present-day climate change.

Etymology
The word "geology" was first used by Jean-André Deluc in the year 1778 and introduced as a fixed term by Horace-Bénédict de Saussure in the year 1779. The science was not included in Encyclopædia Britannica's third edition completed in 1797, but had a lengthy entry in the fourth edition completed by 1809.[1] An older meaning of the word was first used by Richard de Bury to distinguish between earthly and theological jurisprudence.

-Source: Wikipedia.

Toggle


Corpus Christi Geological Society
P.O. Box 1068
Corpus Christi, TX 78403



Coastal Bend Geophysical Society
P.O. Box 2471
Corpus Christi, TX 78403


Committees

Geological Society Committees & Chairpersons


Advertising Sara Miller ads@ccgeo.org

Advertising Christian Dohse ads@ccgeo.org

Arrangements Allison Corcoran arrangements@ccgeo.org

Bayfest/EarthDay-BayDay Alan Costello acostello@royalcctx.com

Boy Scouts Lloyd Towers ltowers@grandecom.net

Bloodmobile Mike Lucente mikeL@lmpexploration.com

Continuing Education Stephen Thomas

Education Coordinator Dawn Bissell bissells@swbell.net

Fishing Tournament Ed Egger edegger@3dimaging.net

History Ray Govett raywg@hotmail.com

Membership Randall Bissell membership@ccgeo.org

Scholarships Dawn Bissell bissells@swbell.net

Shrimp Boil David Kirk dkirk@rivieraproduction.com

University Liaison Zach Corcoran zcorcoran1982@gmail.com


Geophysical Society Committees & Chairpersons


Membership Randall Bissell membership@ccgeo.org

Golf Ed Egger edegger@3dimaging.net
 


Questions and Comments should be directed to the Webmaster